Help with Aquarium Management Assignment

MelM
MelM Member Posts: 2
Hi Everyone.

Thanks for the add Admins.

I am studying Aquarium Management and thought that joining a forum such as this would be a great way to meet aquarists that I may be able to ask questions in relation to my studies from time to time.

I have an assignment that I am working on where I am to find a willing aquarist to answer a few questions about their own aquarium.
- How did your passion begin?
- What are the benefits of having an aquarium?
- What are the disadvantages?
- How much time do you spend per day/week managing your aquarium(s)?
- Other than the obvious, what are the main differences between having a saltwater vs freshwater tank?
- What rare species can you keep?

One other question is:
- What happens when you dip a net into a tank of a school of bright coloured fish (e.g: cardinals)?
- Observe their reaction and why do you think this happens?
I assume that the fish will scatter away from the net but may also display some sort of colour change - I think it would be most likely that they lose their bright colouration. I would expect that this is a defensive behaviour.

If any one is able to help me out with the above questions, I would be really grateful.

A bit about me - At present I only have a pond with a few goldfish but as time goes on, and I have completed my course, I plan to set up some more elaborate set ups - possibly cichlids, but I am not 100% decided as yet.

Thanks in advance for anyone that is able to help.

Cheers,
Mel

Comments

• Frayk
    Frayk Member Posts: 1,009
    Ok. I will give this a go, but, i can only speak for myself.
    My passion began with loving all animals, dogs, birds, Giraffes, lizards, snakes,axolotyls,
    Elephants, Whales, fish...........etc. If you get my drift.
    Then a fascination with water, moving water, life, living under water.
    Then a fascination with fish.